Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Sandeep Singh back in hockey team

May 02, 2008 20:21 IST

Drag-flicker Sandeep Singh made a comeback, being selected in the 18-member Indian team for the Azlan Shah hockey tournament in Malaysia.

Junior players make up half of the squad.

Eight players, who are in Australia for the second leg of Four-Nation tournament, were included for the May 8-18 tournament in Ipoh.

Rajpal Singh and Prabhjot Singh were left out just as were Ignace Tirkey, V S Vinaya and Birendra Lakra who will return home from Australia.

Penalty-corner specialist VR  Raghunath will also miss the tournament. He will be replaced by young Diwakar Ram.

The new selection committee did the balancing act by naming Joaquim Carvalho as observer while giving the reigns of the team to junior team coach A K Bansal.

India team Technical Director Ric Charlesworth will accompany the team as adviser.

The team: Baljeet Singh, P R Sreejesh, Diwakar Ram, Sandeep Singh, Innocent Kullu, Sameer Baxla, Sarvanjit Singh, Ranjeet Singh, Bikram Kanth, Sardara Singh, A B Cheeyana, Vivek, S V Sunil, Gurvinder Singh, Tushar Khandekar, Shivender Singh, Mandeep Antil, Gurbaj Singh.

Officials: A K Bansal (chief coach), Ric Charlseworth (Adviser), R K  Shetty (Manager), Joaquiam Carvalho (Observer), Rajesh Chauhan (Coach), Ramesh Parameshwaran (Asst. Coach), Shrikant Iyenger (Physio), M V Mathai (Trainer).

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.