The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Karnataka bypoll: JD-S wins lone assembly seat

June 05, 2005 15:30 IST

Janata Dal-Secular candidate Jamir Ahmed on Sunday won the Chamarajpet assembly seat in the byelection held in Karnataka on June 2.

Jamir Ahmed defeated his nearest Congress rival R V Devaraj by a margin of 3938 votes.

The bypoll was caused following the resignation of former chief minister S M Krishna from the seat after he was appointed governor of Maharastra.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.